Rutgers Epistemology Conference




Friday, May 5, 2017

1:30 - 3:15 pm

    Juan Comesaña (University of Arizona)

    Chair: John Bengson (University of Wisconsin-Madison)

Coffee Break

3:45 - 5:30 pm

    Roger White (MIT)

    Chair: Tamar Lando (Columbia)


7:30 - 9:15 pm

    Jennifer Lackey (Northwestern University)

    Chair: Kate Nolfi (University of Vermont)

Reception 9:30 - 11:00 PM

Saturday, May 6, 2017

10:00 - 11:45 am

    Robert Audi (University of Notre Dame)

    Chair: Nico Silins (Cornell)


1:30 - 3:15 pm      Winners of the Young Epistemologist Prize

    Christopher Kelp (KU Leuven): “Inquiry and the Transmission of Knowledge”

    Chair: Susanna Rinard (Harvard)

    Miriam Schoenfield (NYU/MIT): “Permissivism and the Value of Rationality”

    Chair: Kurt Sylvan (University of Southampton)


Coffee Break

3:45 - 5:30 pm

    Gillian Russell (UNC)

    Chair: Sandy Goldberg (Northwestern University)


Alex Byrne (MIT)

Jane Friedman (NYU)

Kathrin Glüer-Pagin (Stockholms Universitet)

Peter Graham (University of California, Riverside)


Fred Adams, Robert Almeder, Laura Callahan, Sam Carter, David Christensen, Stewart Cohen, Earl Conee, Andy Egan, Adam Elga, Megan Feeney, Will Fleisher, Carolina Flores, Elizabeth Fricker, Thony Gillies, Alvin Goldman, Ram Neta, Jim Pryor, Blake Roeber, Kelley Ross, Jonathan Schaffer, Susanna Schellenberg, Eli Shupe, Ernest Sosa, John Troyer, Jonathan Vogel

The REC is a pre-read conference, so papers are to be read in advance. All sessions will be held in the Hyatt in New Brunswick, NJ. There is no registration fee for the conference, but please notify Megan Feeney, the conference manager, if you plan to attend by sending an email to If you wish to participate in the meals, please send a check of $70 made out to "Rutgers University" to Megan Feeney by May 1st (Megan Feeney; Rutgers Epistemology Conference; 106 Somerset St, 5th Floor; New Brunswick, NJ 08901).